Enriching our community, expanding your world.

Good Reads for 5th Graders

Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary (J CLE)

Persistant Leigh Botts becomes pen-pals with his favorite author. This book won a Newbery Medal.

The Homework Machine by Dan Gutman (J GUT)

A fifth grade genius invents a machine to do his homework & soon the other three students in his classroom work group learn his secret. The four main characters, who band together to keep the machine a secret, take turns narrating the story.

African Princess: The Amazing Lives of Africa's Royal Women by Joyce Hansen (J 960.09 HAN)

Not your Disney princesses--this book takes an honest look at the lives of real African princesses, complete with espionage, betrayel, courage, and triumph. The profiled princesses span a huge historical time frame, beginning with Hatshepsut of Ancient Egypt and ending with supermodel and Cambridge University graduate Elizabeth of Toro.

Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse (J HES)

This book uses verse to tell the moving story of courageous Billie Jo who survives tragedy and environmental devestation during the Great Depression. This book won a Newbery Medal.

From the Mixed Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konisburg (J KON)

Since they like their creature comforts, when siblings Claudia and James run away from home, they decide to live in luxury at the Metropolitan Museum of Art instead of roughing it in the wilderness. The two soon become intrigued by a mystery surrounding one of the museum's newest donations. This book won a Newbery Medal.

One Million Things compiled by DK Publishers (J 031 ONE)

This book is perfect for fans of The Guinness Book of World Records and the game show Jeopardy. And, yes, it really does contain one million bits of trivia.

A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park (J PAR)

It's difficult to explain the emotional impact of this gripping novel, set in 12th Century Korea. This book won a Newbery Medal.

The Paper House by Lois Peterson (J PET)

Ten year old Safiyah finds adjusting to the move from her village in rural Kenya to the city of Nairobi becomes easier once she makes friends in her new home, but she still wishes she were able to go to school. Can her talent as an artist be the key to a better life?

Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, and Falling Up by Shel Silverstein (J 811 SIL)

A new generation is discovering the delightful silliness of Shel Silverstein's poems and illustrations.

One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia (J WIL)

The summer of 1968 holds one surprise after another for Delphine and her two younger sisters after their father and grandmother ship them off to Oakland, CA to stay with the mother she barely remembers. This book won both a Coretta Scott King Medal and a Newbery Honor.

Peace, Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson (J WOO)

Lonnie Collins Motion has had many labels attached to him, including "throw-away boy," but is the label "writer" that most powerfully shapes his life. Lonnie offers the rare fictional portrayel of a child in foster care who has both a strong sense of ethics and a determination to succeed.

Aqua Fish Theme was designed by Dealancer for Acuariofilia en Ecuador.